Logo done by Afterlife Designs

Thursday, April 5, 2012

Review: Elysian- Wires Of Creation

Band: Elysian
Release: Wires Of Creation
Genre: Melodic Progressive Metal
Label: Self-Released
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ElysianMetal

1. Man's Design
2. Sigma
3. The Climb From Fear
4. Eternal Breath
5. Sense Offender
6. The Gate
7. Play The Hand
8. Calming The Storm
9. Conquest
10. Machine
11. A Cry From The Helpless

Review: 7/10
Elysian is an Australian band that draws influence from bands like Periphery, and SiKth, with a spaced out instrumental likeness in the spirit of Pink Floyd to deliver spaced out, experimental songs. Wires Of Creation is a amalgamation of virtuosic guitars riffs and solos, menacing vocals courtesy of Ben, and ambience that creates something entirely new in the metal world… sort of.

When the first signs of music pops out with the first track “Mans Design,” right away you hear the Periphery influence in the guitars that reminisce of their song “The Walk.” Far from being a blatant rip-off however, Ben’s evil vocals kick in over the calmness of the music. It’s much like a contrast between light and dark, at least one gets that type of vibe. The music is, for a lack of a better word, more “earthly,” and the vocals sound like they belong on a brutal deathcore release.

Changing it up a bit on “Sigma,” the music goes on a melodic metalcore sort of groove and even the vocals are toned down a little bit. The riffs shown in the song are wholly unique and catchy. It eventually slips off into ambient territory with the drums providing an ethereal soundscape and the guitars expanding upon it. Chunky, djent-y riffs are abound on “Sense Offender” as well, which really pushes them further into the melodic side of music.

They don’t deviate much at all from this formula, but “The Gate” is a good try. While it’s full of faster paced guitars instead of the jumpy djent they’ve been playing so far, the drums still follow the formula. Definitely more metalcore in nature, the vocalist keeps it brutal with his shredding vocal skills. Before long, they bring back the chunky riffs unfortunately.

It’s a really good release, but it follows a little too closely in Periphery’s footsteps. While there are a few differences, the guitars is where the similarities are found. Not to sound too critical of it, it is an album worth checking out. If you’re a fan of Periphery, then this album has a chance at becoming a regular spin in your CD player.

No comments:

Post a Comment