Logo done by Afterlife Designs

Saturday, June 25, 2011

Review: Crash The Machine- Self-Titled (2007)

Band: Crash The Machine
Release: Crash The Machine
Genre: Pop/Alternative Rock
Members: Brian, Eric, Craig.
Label: Unsigned
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Crash-The-Machine/114441685307608

1. I Want It All
2. Push Me Down (I'm Alive)
3. Spark
4. You Won't Feel
5. Buried
6. Hey There, Cellophane
7. Bite My Tongue
8. I Don't Understand
9. Alice
10. Two Worlds (2007)

Review: 8.4/10

Crash The Machine is a group from Sacramento, CA that released their album back in 2007. They are in the studio right now working on their follow up, so I decided to review this one as my first retro review. To be honest, I’m not too much of a fan of the vocals, but I really like the music here.

“I Want It All” has good lyrics and music, until it gets to the chorus… I have to say that’s it’s hard to say what he really wants. If he is referring to Hollywood, then that would be horrible, as that is very clich√©. I really like the music however. I think that with better lyrics and a powerful singer, this band can really excel beyond their own beliefs. So from now on, I am going to completely ignore the vocals and review only the music.

“Push Me Down (I’m Alive)” musically is by far the best song on the album. Like in the case of my last review The Story Changes, this is where they show their worth by becoming radio friendly and pull it off nicely. They even mix it up a little bit and throw some hand drums into the song, which I think is pretty cool. The beginning really gives you some indication on how the rest of the track will turn out. The build up is sure to get fans going in a live setting. It’s very catchy and has influences from a amalgam of other successful radio acts, such as Smile Empty Soul and Barenaked Ladies.

“Buried” is a faster, drum and bass driven song that rivals the previous song review. It kind of reminds me of The Offspring a little bit (not vocally, musically). The bass takes over the verses (which I like) and the guitars overcome the chorus. The switch up between this keeps the track from sounding too stale to the average listener.

Overall, I give this album a higher score, but ONLY for its musical merits. It’s really catchy, has the potential to rule the airwaves, and I could see this being awesome live. However, the lyrics and vocals really bog this album down (which is a shame) but luckily they do NOT have the same vocalist. I really look forward to hearing the next album and I hope it gets some airplay. 

1 comment:

  1. I love these guys. They stole my heart a long time ago. ~Patty, Boise, ID